Teachers Receive Highest Honour for Excellence in Education

Ms Tay Hui Cheng of St Anthony’s Canossian Secondary School (SACSS) was one of eight recipients and Mr Kok Boon Siang of St Anthony’s Primary School (SAPS) was one of nine finalists for this year’s President’s Award for Teachers (PAT).

In her speech at the award ceremony in the Istana on Teacher’s Day, 1 September 2022, President Halimah Yacob said: “Our educators do more than teach subjects. Beyond the pursuit of excellence in academics, they also focus on the socio-emotional and mental resilience foundations for our students, and help to positively mould their habits, traits, and character. These will enable each and every student to grow holistically and achieve their fullest potential.

“The recipients of this year’s President’s Award for Teachers exemplify the qualities of what we mean when we say teaching is a calling, and the huge impact teachers can have in the lives of their students. I extend my heartiest congratulations to all the eight award winners, as well as the 4000-over nominees. All of you have been an inspiration to your fellow teachers.”

Ms Tay developed a mobile game and videos to assist her students in their Chinese lessons during the pandemic. She averred: “This honour is thanks to the support of my school leaders and colleagues who believe in me and work alongside me to turn ideas into viable teaching and learning innovations. I have been teaching for almost 18 years and I find my work rewarding and meaningful as I have the opportunity to impact young lives.”


Ms Tay Hui Cheng of St Anthony’s Canossian Secondary School (SACSS) was one of eight recipients at this year’s President’s Award for Teachers (PAT). (Photo: Ministry of Education)


Outstanding Educators

The Ministry of Education (MOE) states: “The President’s Award for Teachers was established in 1998 to recognise excellent educators for their role in moulding the future of our nation.”

“They constantly adopt innovative approaches in their lessons, and are lifelong learners and mentors to their peers. They reach out to their students, affirm their strengths and efforts, and encourage them to pursue their dreams. Through their words and deeds, these educators are an inspiration to their students and colleagues.”

MOE elaborated: “This year’s recipients were selected from 17 finalists who were judged by a panel chaired by Mr Patrick Tay, Chairperson of the Government Parliamentary Committee for Education. The panel included representatives from the Ministry of Education (MOE), as well as the Community and Parents in Support of Schools (COMPASS), a council established in December 1998 to advise MOE on strengthening and promoting school-home-community collaboration.

“This year’s award recipients will be able to participate in an overseas learning programme to further their professional development. Finalists will each receive a grant to attend conferences, seminars and courses, or to purchase resources for professional development.”

Ms Tay Hui Cheng is the Head of Department for Mother Tongue at SACSS and Mr Kok Boon Siang is the Year Head for Lower Primary in SAPS.